The Chubby Chaste Island, aka Virgin Gorda, BVI

My business partner stoutly refuses to let any opportunity slip by without contorting the most innocently dropped term or phrase into some sort of twisted pun.  His wife, with the obligatory spousal roll of the eyes heavenward, loves to remind him that puns are the lowest form of humor.  I must warn those of you with the same affliction — and full disclosure compels me to admit that I too love to torture the language in similar fashion — are going to have to bite your tongues more that once when reading this post.  You will understand why very shortly.

Virgin Gorda, BVIThe name of the incredible isle (see list of categories on the right side of the home page) I have chosen to feature today is Virgin Gorda in the British Virgin Islands.  The name, which means “fat virgin” in Spanish, is derived from the fact that Virgin Gorda, BVIthe  “island’s profile on the horizon looks like a fat woman lying on her side.”  (OK, behave now.  I told you this was going to test your restraint.)  Honestly, I am not seeing the fat virgin myself but then I flunked college psychology because every Rorschach image they showed me looked like a Hostess Twinkie dipped in melted chocolate.

Virgin Gorda is the third largest and second most populous of the British Virgin Islands.  One of theBitter End Yacht Club in Virgin Gorda chief delights of the island is its numerous yacht clubs.  I too would belong to a yacht club were it not for the unfortunate fact that I don’t actual own a yacht.  I know, it seems grossly unfair to me too!

This is a picture of the Bitter End Yacht Club.  (Your second opportunity to curb your not so punny instincts.  Oops, there I go!)  This is but one of several yacht clubs on the islands.   Perhaps one of the most popular aspects of the island is an unusual formation known as “The Baths”.  The BVI tourism site describes the area as “a geological wonder comprised of awe-inspiring granite boulders, which form sheltered sea pools on the beach’s edge.”  Their site has a fascinating description of the geological process that produced this phenomenon.

Rosewood Little Dix Bay

I am just going to pause here and let you get every bad wisecrack, gag and chestnut (don’t even go there!) out of your system. . . . .  Just thought of another one? . . . . Are you done?  Okay, may I now please tell you about a truly amazing resort?  Thank you!

Rosewood Virgin GoradAll kidding aside, something I seldom set aside, this is one of the world’s great resorts in one of the world’s most breathtaking settings.  It is situated along a crescent-shaped white sand beach in the midst of lush mountain foliage. If you get totally bored on your stretch of pristine beach (poor baby), just hop on a complimentary water taxi and motor off to any of seven other beaches.

If you love fine dining (do I really need to ask?), you will quickly decide you have landed in the middle of paradise.  The Sugar Mill is set in an open air stone mill nestled along the beach.  Every table has a sweeping view of the bay with nothing to obstruct either the sound of the gently lapping water or the caress of the lightly dancing ocean breeze.

Rosewood Virgin Gorda

You may recall my mentioning our friends at Island Destinations.  Well, by a very fortunate  . . .and of course completely random . . . confluence of circumstances, they just happen to have a most amazing offer of a guaranteed upgrade at time of booking, $100 Spa service credit + $150 Dinner credit.  No, I am not stuttering.  Yes, all three.  Reach out to me and I will tell you about some other cool items such as included breakfast and airport greeting.  Oh, and if you insist, we can also chat about the price although that seems so very gauche.

One thought on “The Chubby Chaste Island, aka Virgin Gorda, BVI

What do you think?

