Travel Hopscotch: Name That Destination

I am writing today to assuage the concerns and quiet the fears that surely must be roiling cyber space over my brief hiatus.  I have not published a new post in a couple of weeks which is quite unusual for me.  I can only imagine how sick with worry you must be.

What’s that you say?  You hadn’t noticed?  That’s not very charitable.  It’s not that difficult to feign a little heartfelt concern, you know.  I do it all the time and in one of my finer moments even manufactured a tear once.   If not grave concern, is there at least any idle curiosity out there as to why I have not posted recently?   The short answer is “I’ve been busy!”

Semaphore

International signal for “Dos cervezas, por favor”.

I know most of you think this travel thing is all foo-foo drinks and tiny umbrellas.  You assume all we do is drag our deck chairs from one shade-drenched palapa to the next but you would be so wrong.  In the first place, we would never drag it ourselves if there were a beach waiter within semaphore range.  I got a very nasty splinter doing that once.

Secondly, I will have you know this industry ranks right up there with thinning trees in the pacific northwest and roughnecking in a west Texas oil field for sheer back-breaking exhaustion.  OK, I might be embellishing a tad but the pace, nonetheless, can be quite frenetic.

Here is a bit of good news for those who live for the next installment of these posts.  I am soon to embark upon a rather exotic spate of travel that should provide loads (or would it be bales, or perhaps stacks?) of fodder for future riveting posts.  So where are my travels about to take me?  Are you up for a little cyber parlor game?

Below are pictures of six stops on my itinerary presented in chronological order.  They are labeled, not illogically, Stop One to Stop Six.  I invite you to write a comment with your best guess for each one.  In some cases I have intentionally avoided the more iconic images of the destination.  You won’t see any Sydney opera houses or Eiffel Towers.

Dubai AirportSTOP ONE

Ladispoli, ItalySTOP TWO

Messina, Sicily Athens, Greece

                      STOP THREE                                                  STOP FOUR

Goddess Nike at Ephesus STOP FIVE

Chania, Crete, GreeceSTOP SIX

Give it your best shot.  I am looking not just for the country but the city.  If anyone gets all six correct, I have an immediate opening for you in our vacation travel department!!!

What do you think?

