What Do You Get A Blog For Its First Birthday?

A momentous occasion (to indulge in a little rank hyperbole) would have passed quietly Blog's first birthdaywithout notice today had I not received this congratulatory, albeit terse, note from the folks at WordPress headquarters, (reputed to be located in a bunker buried deep in the Ural mountains).  The message read simply, “Happy Anniversary with WordPress.com.”

It is hard to believe that one year ago today an impoverished world was struggling along without benefit of my accumulated wisdom, wry wit and effervescent charm.  Planet earth must have seemed a very grim and dreary place back then.   Thankfully, one of the seven muses (nine according to some antiquarians . . . nothing is ever straightforward, is it?) arose from a long slumber and showered their inspiration on your humble blogger.  OK, perhaps it was more like a light dusting but let’s not quibble on such an august occasion.

English: United States Postal Service headquar...

United States Postal Service headquarters at L’Enfant Plaza in Washington, D.C. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I am sure, even as I pen these words, burlap bags full of well wishes, congratulatory cards and letters and even a few modest tangible expressions of appreciation are being sorted and loaded by our friends over at the U.S. Postal Service.  The fact that none have as yet arrived must be attributable to the voluminous increase in mail that always surrounds Father’s Day. (That was sarcasm in case it escaped you.)

To be perfectly frank, I have not achieved all the lofty goals I set for this blog one year ago today.  I am not able to report my 10 millionth visitor nor have I been asked to write the travel blog for USA Today.   What I can report is one of the strangest phenomenons associated with blogging.  To date my blog posts have been read by people in 104 different countries around the world.  Seriously!  When you consider that my quirky sense of humor escapes the appreciation of some people in my own family, you have to wonder how comprehensible it could possibly be to people in Malta, Albania, Senegal, Macao and French Polynesia to name just a few.

I have written 61 posts, each a veritable classic it goes without saying.  If you are doing 40 years to life in San Quentin and need a way to make some time pass (granted very slowly), just jump over to my What Did I Miss? page and you will find a complete listing.

I have somehow managed to persuade several otherwise reasonably sane individuals to let me interview them for this blog such as Vicki Freed, Michael Batt and John Heald.

Royal Caribbean's Vicki Freed        Mike Batt         John Heald Carnival Cruise Senior Cruise Director

Since so far I have not been sued in a court of law or made to do a perp walk through the county courthouse, I suppose I will keep plodding along in my inimitable mind numbing way until either the muses abandon me or my frustrated maker cries “Enough already!”  You are invited to register your reaction to this self-congratulatory epistle by taking the poll below.

2 thoughts on “What Do You Get A Blog For Its First Birthday?

  1. Hi Terry…I think your blogs pontifications are great. Who would have known that behind that quiet, unassuming travel agency owner exterior was such an excellent and interesting purveyor of travel wisdomry!

    • None of my assorted teachers along the way, that’s for sure. I am sort of the Clark Kent of travel bloggers. I try to keep a low profile by consistently under achieving.

What do you think?

