Jumpin’ Jumeirah: The Anantara Dubai Palm

In case you have been too busy rearranging your sock drawer lately to notice, there is a brand new five-star luxury resort coming to Dubai on September 15th called the Anantara Dubai Palm Jumeirah Resort & Spa.  Whew, let me catch my breath.  That’s a mouthful.  Apparently words flow as freely as petrodollars in the United Arab Emirates.  Let’s take a moment and dissect this rather elongated name.

Those of you, like me, whose TV’s are set to automatically open on the golf channel Jumeirahprobably recognize the word Jumeirah, even if you have no clue how to pronounce it or what it references.  That would be because the word is emblazoned across the cap and various other clothing articles worn by Rory McIlroy, the young Irish golf phenom, as one of their chief celebrity spokespersons.  Rumor has it . . .  admittedly a rumor I have tried to ignite . . . that I was a close second on their “short list” for a lucrative endorsement contract.  No easy jokes about my stature, please!

Jumeirah  is the name of a world-wide luxury hotel chain based in Dubai with resorts in such illustrious and exotic settings as Abu Dhabi, Bali, Baku, Kuwait, Maldives, Mallorca, Shanghai, Phuket and  everyone’s all-time bucket-list favorite Xishaungbanna.  According to their abbreviated website, “The word Anantara in Sanskrit means “without end” and evokes the freedom, movement and harmony that are the spirit of the Anantara Experience.”

Anatar Dubai Palm Jumeirah Resort & SpaOne of the upcoming dining options will be an Australian Grill restaurant.  I am impressed that they know how to “throw another shrimp on the barbie” even in Dubai.  The Mediterranean beach restaurant sounds a little more to my taste.  Indulge me for a moment as I picture myself slowly twirling my pita bread in plates of succulent tzatziki and hummus and popping Greek olives like buttered popcorn all while an attentive waiter makes sure my wine glass never dips below half full.

The room types are particularly intriguing.  Imagine having to choose between a one bedroom beach pool villa with a personal infinity pool, a one bedroom over water villa poised over the ocean, or a generous Anantara two bedroom beach pool villa that offers the pinnacle of luxury and is ideal for families and friends.  Decisions, decisions.

Anatara Dubai Palm Jumeirah Resort & SpaOne of the best known features of this resort is the Anantara Spa which is designed to restore balance and harmony between body and mind.  They might have their hands full in my case trying to balance my wobbly body while simultaneously harmonizing it with my rather disjointed mind.  But hey, if they are up for the challenge, I am more than willing to submit myself to as many “intoxicating aromas” and “exotic elixirs” as my paltry wallet and their strained patience can endure.

Anatara Spa

Our friends at Emirates are standing by to whisk you away to the grand opening.  Don’t let some A-list celebrity or overpaid sports figure beat you to the punch.  If you have always dreamed of staying at a hotel located at the crescent of the iconic Palm Jumeirah surrounded by lush gardens and tranquil lagoons (and let’s be honest, who hasn’t?), this is your opportunity.  Should I book you the room with the personal infinity pool or the villa over the ocean?

One thought on “Jumpin’ Jumeirah: The Anantara Dubai Palm

  1. I think the readers must also visit the Grand Hyatt Dubai Hotel, its one of the luxurious 5 star hotels in Dubai. The offer one of the best dining options for their customers at their exclusive restaurants.

What do you think?

