Side Trip to the Sensational: A Remarkable Resort

In the travel industry, unique is a term that gets bandied about a little too casually.  In the most literal sense, I suppose, every hotel or resort is unique in the same way that every fingerprint and snowflake are.  But I think what we all intend to convey when we employ that shopworn adjective is a hotel or resort that is distinctive, idiosyncratic and exceptional.  Today I want to tell you about a resort that richly deserves the appellation because it meets all three of those criteria.

Mexico golf course

El Camaleon Mayakoba

On a recent “business trip” to the Riviera Maya south of Cancun (nudge, nudge, wink, wink) I decided to solicit a side trip to a resort I had heard raves about but had never visited.  I am referring to the Rosewood Mayakoba.  One of its primary attractions for me, and this will come as no shock  to either of my friends, was the fact that the resort lays claim to El Camaleon Mayakoba, a signature Greg Norman, 7000 yard, 18-hole championship golf course.  It is the only golf course in Mexico with the distinction of hosting an annual PGA Tour event, aptly named the Mayakoba Golf Classic.   So naturally, when this . . . ahem . . . “business meeting” (you gotta love the travel business) found its way onto my calendar, my first action was to send off an obsequious email to the Director of Sales requesting an opportunity to tour the facility and, oh, by the way, would it be possible for me and a few friends to experience a round of golf.  I am happy to report that my request was met with a generous offer for a round of golf for four (at a discounted rate) followed by a lunch and one-hour tour given by Renata Moreira, Director of Sales and a delightful soul.

One of the unique (there’s that word again) features of the property are the canals that runMexico resort throughout.  In fact, this picture to the right shows the lobby area on the upper level.  When you check in, you descend the steps and are delivered to your room in one of the water taxis you see in the picture.  The canals give the resort a special ambiance, particularly at night when there are lights all along the banks.

Just six weeks ago, Rosewood announced the opening of Sense, A Rosewood Spa, named a best spa by readers of Conde Nast magazine.  In their own words, “The 17,000-square-foot Sense spa is ensconced on its own island melding water and earth to reflect the nurturing soul of the Riviera Maya.”  It can nurture me anytime it cares to!  Follow the Sense link for a full press release about this newest addition.

If you visit, you will probably want to while away more than a few hours at Agave Azul, Tequila, Library and Raw Bar.  No, that’s not a typo.  I presume it refers to the sushi, not the dress code!  Check out the three pictures below.

Mexico resort   Mexico resort        Mexico resort

There are two other incredible Rosewood properties in Mexico and I will tell you about both in my next post.  I know checking out 5 star hotels sounds wonderful but it is really quite grueling.  I am fighting to keep a straight face.  If you long to check them out too, you know how to reach me.  What is your favorite luxury resort in Mexico?

One thought on “Side Trip to the Sensational: A Remarkable Resort

  1. Pingback: Crème de Riviera Maya: The Top Five (or so) Resorts | Travel By Terry

What do you think?

