Welcome to “Travel By Terry”

Those familiar with Greek mythology will recall that the nine daughters of Mnemosyne and Zeus each presided over a different art or science. These nine muses are purported to have provided inspiration for writers, musicians and painters across the centuries.

I began this blog because I hope to provide a little inspiration and reflection for those who have a passion for discovering the unending wonders our planet offers the inquisitive and unafraid. I hope my ambition to be a sort of contemporary travel muse sounds neither immodest or inappropriate given the fact that I am neither female nor remotely divine.

What I do possess, and share with many of you, is an inate curiosity and insatiable wanderlust. St. Augustine observed, “”The world is a book and those who do not travel read only one page.” I have been given the opportunity to read many of those pages and hope to read many more before I shuffle off this mortal coil.

So if you would like to share my experiences, observations, and discoveries, by all means follow along. In the words of Ecclesiastes, “Two are better than one for they have a good reward for their labor”. For me, travel is a labor of love and I welcome your companionship along the way.

Until next time, travel safe!

2 thoughts on “Welcome to “Travel By Terry”

    • So true! Yet somehow we wanderers are irresistibly drawn to the quest anyway. To cite another reference, “Far over the misty mountains cold / To dungeons deep and caverns old / We must away ere break of day / To seek the pale enchanted gold.”

What do you think?

